3L at last

Today was the first day of my last year in law school. Thank goodness. Although I am scared out of my mind with the thought of going out into the real world without the buffer of “academia”, I am anxiously excited to do something that is not loaded with debt.

I am also quite anxious about my clerkship interviews. I have one this week, I have two more in two weeks, and I have another one I need to schedule into my calendar. I hope I just get the first one so I don’t have to go to anymore interviews. That’s highly unlikely but I need to stay positive. Man, I need to read for class but I am definitely not in school mode yet. I have so many applications to complete, writing samples to fix, etc. etc. etc. Instead, I am writing this blog entry and feeling a slight panic rise as I see the minutes ticking away. My lack of sleep might be adding to my nerves.

I should have slept more last night but I was up way too late cooking for this week. I have been running errands nonstop since I moved into my new place and I am sick of unpacking already. Cooking is a good de-stressor and it helps to get me on track financially and physically.

What I made in the crockpot (I LOVE my crockpot and I can’t wait to make healthy versions of pulled pork and jambalaya):

Family-Pleasing Turkey Chili Recipe Source: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/family-pleasing-turkey-chili

I also made: tuna salad for sandwiches (with greek yogurt, celery, dijon mustard, tabasco, pepper, salt, and garlic powder), grilled chicken breast with Mrs. Dash Lemon Pepper, and vegetable stir fry (including broccoli, celery, garlic, scallions, onions, mushrooms, red bell peppers with tomato paste, cumin, salt, pepper, rice wine, and garlic salt). I have lunch and dinner for the rest of the week all ready to go! I am glad I didn’t set the fire alarm off with all the smoke that was coming off of the pan.

FYI, I am very proud of myself. As of yesterday, I have lost a total of 9lbs. I am mightily pleased and someone even commented on my weight loss today at school. Now I just have another 10-15lbs. more to go. If I actually dedicate myself to running, I might just be able to get to it without getting even more HANGRY (yes, I get angry/irritated when hungry). But even as I type this, my tummy is grumbling for more food. Must.Fight.Hunger. I am eating a healthy amount of calories but because my body is so used to eating to the point of pain for every meal (upwards of 2600-3000 calories per day) it has been a daily struggle to meet my goal each day. I am not going to lie, I do have my cheat day(s) on the weekend but during the week, I can only look forward to that buttery, cheesy, meaty, greasy goodness on Friday, Saturday and/or Sunday.

This is what I want to eat ALL THE TIME:

But this is what I actually should eat:

This is truth:

Leave a comment